DMD logofinal no border DMD adv

The "Call for Nominations" has closed, the judges have reviewed the nominations and the shortlisted finalists can be announced. Thank you to everyone who made a nomination and participated in the nominations process.

Lead sponsor


Award Sponsors

Harris_wR_2color (2) boeing_logo_large CAE Logo Honeywell logo Nammo + WWTAPlukelogo_1 (002)

Official Charity

The Shortlisted Finalists for the 2018 Defence Media Awards are as follows -


Best Young Defence Journalist - sponsored by NAMMO

Jen Judson- Defense News

David Larter - Defense News

Connie Lee – National Defense

Beth Maundrill – Shephard Media


Best Cyber Security submission

Mark Pomerleau - DoD quietly reorganizes Cyber Command – Fifth Domain

Yasmin Tadjdeh – Cyber Talent Wanted – National Defense

Wendell Minnick - China’s Orwellian nightmare comes true – Digital Battlespace


Best Naval Systems submission

David Larter - Flying blind and freezing: Navy investigating terrifying EA-18G Growler flight – Defense News

Richard Thomas – Peerless Patrol – International Maritime & Port Security

Jon Harper - Expanding the Fleet: Navy Charts Course for 355 Ships - National Defense

Luca Peruzzi - Submerged Unmanned Platforms on the Rise- European Security & Defence

Dr. Lee Willett - Constabulary Maritime: OPVs and Corvettes On Patrol – Asian Military Review


Best Military Rotorcraft submission

Frank Colucci - Getting Smart for FVL - Vertiflite

Joetey Attariwala - Black Hawk Evolves with new Weapons Systems – Rotor & Wing

Jen Judson - US Army stops accepting AH-64E helos from Boeing due to safety concerns – Defense News

Tim Martin – Lifting the Spirits- Defence Helicopter

Gareth Jennings - King of the heavy haulers – Jane’s Defence Weekly


Best Training, Simulation and Readiness submission - sponsored by CAE

Joetey Attariwala – Red Dawn – Military Training & Simulation News

Alice Budge - Service Central - Military Training & Simulation News

Robert Moorman – Uniformed Renaissance - Military Simulation & Training (MS&T) Magazine

Tim Ripley - Command Training and Simulation – Arab Defence Journal

Sebastian Sprenger - German Navy Leans Heavy on Sim Pilot Training - Defense News


Best Military Aviation Submission - sponsored by Honeywell

Joetey Attariwala – A Mark of Improvement - Military Training & Simulation News

James Drew – Boeing’s Play for the MQ-25 Stingray – Aviation Week & Space Technology

Valerie Insinna - Marine Corps F-35s dogged by parts shortages -Defense News

Gareth Jennings - Future Fighter: F-35 begins transition into US service – Jane’s Defence Weekly

Vivienne Machi - Light Attack for Lower Cost- National Defense


Best Land Systems submission - sponsored by Northrop Grumman

Sam Cranny-Evans, Mark Cazalet and Chris Foss – The Czar of Battle – Jane’s International Defence Review

Stefan Nitschke – Drones: How to Mitigate the Threat – European Security & Defence

Doug Richardson – Military Operations in Urban Terrain – European Security & Defence

Grant Turnbull – Boxing Clever – Land Warfare International

Yasmin Tadjdeh - Tank Warfare: Russia Builds Platform to Rival the Abrams - National Defense


Best Technology Submission - sponsored by Harris

Vivienne Machi - Defense Industry Moves Toward Multi-Material 3D Printing- National Defense

Guy Norris – Hypersonics – Aviation Week & Space Technology

Grant Turnbull and Ashley Roque - Stepping up – Digital Battlespace

Daniel Wasserby - Cluster munitions: the US aims for safer submunitions with the same effects – Jane’s International Defence Review

Tom Withington - Tactical Communications Compendium – Military Technology


The John Morrocco Award for Best In-Depth Defense Reporting

- sponsored by Boeing

Peter Felstead - Silver bullet solution- Jane’s Defence Weekly

Jon Harper - Great Power Competition – National Defense

Gareth Jennings - Assured Sentry: AWACS guards NATO’s eastern flank – Jane’s International Defence Review

Jen Judson - Future Vertical Lift poised to get Army out of the acquisition dark ages – Defense News

Lara Seligman – Hypoxia – Aviation Week & Space Technology

Shinichi Kiyotani - Japan’s Wheeled Armoured Vehicle – European Security & Defence



The Outstanding Achievement Award - sponsored by Lockheed Martin


To be announced on the night


To book tickets, tables or half tables contact Peter Bradfield

email -

tel + 44 1362 860061

DMD ticket NG_Brand_Logo_Tag_White_OnBlue (2) (003)